Greenhorn Hunting

25 11 2010

One of the new hobbies I’ve taken up in life is hunting.  It’s quite an amazing feeling to sit up in a tree stand, 20 feet off the ground. Waiting, quietly, patiently for that elusive whitetail deer to walk into range.  At which point you have the choice. You decide whether or not it should be taken down.  Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t do it for the sake of killing a defenseless animal.  I do it for the my love of the earth’s bounty, for the comradery, and of course for food. It’s an excellent means of meditation while I sit there in the wilderness all alone, at one with nature.  I know, it’s sounds so cliche to be ‘at one with nature’, but it’s true.  You need to experience what I’m talking about in order to understand.

I currently bow hunt in a group of my father’s-in-law.  We haven’t seen much yet this year, but we’re hoping that it will pick up once the snow start flying. Our gang of about 8 men have only shot 1 deer during this bow season and we’ve only seen 3 or 4.  It seems like the weather and many other factors are playing into this season in a powerful way.

I’m looking forward to be able to share my experiences as I learn to become a hunter.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

